This is the "Getting Started" page of the "COM 212: Introduction to Communication Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COM 212: Introduction to Communication Research   Tags: class, comm  

Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://campusguides.unr.edu/com212 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Fox, Vance. Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Nighttime. 2008. Photograph. Campus Images, UNR Digital Conservancy, University of Nevada, Reno. Web. 3 May 2011.

Finding Background Information Online

Use one of the online reference sources below to find background information on a topic.

 

Getting Started with Research

Journals: Scholarly, or peer-reviewed, journals contain articles written by researchers and practitioners in a particular subject area. The authors often have particular specialties. Peer groups of researchers, scholars and professionals within a specific discipline are the audience for scholarly literature. To search the articles within a specific journal, go the Journals tab.

Research Databases: Databases contain collections of hundreds of different scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, and periodicals (magazines and newspapers) that you can search simultaneously. To search for a scholarly article on a specific topic, go the Research Databases tab, choose a database, and enter your search terms in the search boxes at the top of the page. If no full text of your article is available, click on the Find it button to get the full text of the article.

 

Finding Background Information in the Library

Use a communication reference book like the ones below to find background information about an artist or style.

Cover Art
Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: P29 .F47 1998
ISBN: 0874369460

Cover Art
Dictionary of Media and Communication
Call Number: Reference P 87.5 .W38 2003
ISBN: 0340808292

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Call Number: Reference P87.5 .E53 2002
ISBN: 0028653866

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Rudy Leon
 

Chat with the Research Desk

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip