- Criminal Justice Periodicals Index
Coverage of international journals on a wide range of criminal justice issues. 1981 - present.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
(EBSCOhost) Citations and summaries of international journal articles, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminal justice topics. 1968 - present.
- Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus Research provides access to a comprehensive collection of law-related resources, business information, and news. Content includes: analytical law sources such as American Law Reports and American Jurisprudence, more than 800 law reviews and journals, all federal and state cases, all U.S. Supreme Court cases, news and trade publications, newswires, Hoover's company reports, and more. Turn off your browser’s popup blocker to access and print Westlaw content. Search Guide
- LexisNexis Academic
Coverage varies, but you can find 25-year-old articles from some sources. Some articles by free lance journalists are not included. Covers national and international newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and news digests.
- Academic Search Premier
(Ebsco) Indexes 7,800+ scholarly journals, with full text for 4,000 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1965- present for selected titles. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
A comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
The online version of Psychological Abstracts, indexing journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations. 1887- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
- Google Scholar
Provides links to articles across numerous databases. Click "Find @ UNR" for full text access from the library. If you are at home, edit your scholar preferences and choose UNR under Library Links.
Full text collection of articles covering women's and gender topics.
- U.S. Governement Printing Office
Full text of U.S. federal bills, public laws, regulations and more from selected government departments and agencies
- Human Rights Watch Reports Online
Includes recent publications and links to country reports and previous publications from 1984 to present.
Core academic journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available electronically through JSTOR; however, they may be available through their publishers or other vendors.
- Business Source Complete
(EBSCOhost) Full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database.
- CQ Researcher
Full text overviews providing the pros and cons on current controversial issues with complete summaries, bibliographies and time-lines.
- Digital National Security Archive
63,000 of the most important declassified documents on U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Search the documents or explore collections of primary resources organized by top scholars.
Click to watch an excellent video explaining how to evaluate the quality of journal articles and other materials you find searching databases.
"Evaluating Information using the CRAAP Test"
(Video produced by the Johnson and Wales University Library)
Use the box below to search for a specific journal.
Peer review is the process by which an author's peers read a paper submitted for publication. A number of recognized researchers in the field will evaluate a manuscript and recommend its publication, revision, or rejection. Articles accepted for publication through a peer review process implicitly meet the discipline's expected standards of expertise.