- Academic Knovel
Knovel is a web-based application integrating technical information with analytical and search tools to drive innovation and deliver answers engineers can trust. It provides access to a large e-bookshelf of engineering titles providing researched data for real-world applications. At this time, you must have an UNR email address in order to create a "My Knovel" account.
- Academic Search Premier
(Ebsco) Indexes 7,800+ scholarly journals, with full text for 4,000 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1965- present for selected titles. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
- Access Medicine
A repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles.
- Access World News
Find information on a wide breadth of topics from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, periodicals, blogs, videos and web-only content including the Las Vegas Review Journal, Financial Times (London), San Francisco Chronicle, and USA Today.
Provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries from trusted sources.
- ACCRA Cost of Living Index
Compares costs of products and services in most U.S. metropolitan areas. Issued quarterly.
- ACM Digital Library
Abstracts, reviews, and full-text for articles published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, magazines, newsletters, and conference proceedings. 1985- present.
- African-American Poetry (1750-1900)
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets. Searchable by title, first line, poet, gender, and time period.
- AgEcon Search
Full-text library of Agricultural and applied economics scholarly literature. Search by institution or journal. University of Minnesota.
(EBSCOhost) Index to materials on social gerontology, including health care and other aging issues. Produced by AARP. 1978 - present.
(EBSCOhost) Index to agricultural and plant science journals, USDA documents, and state extension service publications primarily from North America. 1970- present.
Index to international agricultural literature. Includes articles, technical reports, proceedings, theses, and documents primarily from, or related to, the developing world. 1975- present.
(EBSCOhost) Index to alternative and complimentary health therapies, including full text from journals, newsletters, newspapers and pamphlets. 1978- present.
Indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Covers a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society. 1994- present.
- Aluminium Industry Abstracts
The world's technical literature on aluminum, ranging from ore processing through applications. 1972- present.
- America: History & Life
Index of journal articles, dissertations and book reviews on all aspects of North American history (United States and Canada). 1964- present. (To search multiple EBSCOhost databases, click the "Select Databases" tab.)
- American Chemical Society Web Editions
Access to about 40 peer-reviewed research journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Coverage dates vary by journal title.
- American Drama (1714-1915)
Over 1,500 plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. Searchable by playwright, genre, date and place of first performance.
- American FactFinder
Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
- American History and Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
29,000 works about the Americas published from 1500 to the early 1900's. Includes books, pamphlets, serials and documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.
- American History in Video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.
- American National Biography Online
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men & women ? from all eras and walks of life ? whose lives have shaped the nation. The American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years.
- American Periodicals Series (1741- circa 1900)
Growing collection of magazines and journals published in late colonial Anglo-America and the U.S., valuable for research in History, Literature, Journalism, and other disciplines.
- American Poetry (1600-1900)
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century. Searchable by title, first line, poet, gender, and time period.
- American State Papers, 1789-1838
Legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses, plus other historical materials such as speeches and messages of U.S. Presidents, and papers on historical events such as Lewis and Clark's Expedition, Aaron Burr's conspiracy and arrest, and early treaties with American Indian nations.
- American West
Manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Newberry Library's Graff Collection (Chicago, IL), including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, outlaws, and the growth of urban centers and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1920- present)
Over 900,000 searchable records of monographs, scholarly articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, and collections of essays and dissertations.
- Anthropological papers of the American Museum of Natural History
The Anthropological Papers include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians. Illustrious anthropologists as well as many past and present curators of the American Museum of Natural History's Division of Anthropology published their work in the Papers. 1907- present
- Anthropology Plus
(EBSCOhost) As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.
Searchable archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003, with current issues of 15 peer-reviewed AAA titles.
- AP Images
AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery, with a 50 million-image print and negative archive. As an essential source of photographs and graphics for professional image buyers, AP Images strives to meet the needs of today's global customer through superior image quality, selection and service.
- APPI Psychiatry Online DSM Library
The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchersof all orientations. DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders, and is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. It contains records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
Comprehensive statistics and other information on the state of agricultural water management worldwide, with emphasis on developing countries and countries in transition. Includes tools for estimating and mapping climate, water availability and irrigation use. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
- Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
Abstracting journal covering research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. 1990 - present. ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality is a subfile of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.
- ARBA Online
American Reference Books Annual. Quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. 1997- present.
- Archive Finder
Directory of 5,500 repositories and 141,178 collections of primary source material in the United States. Search 58,000 finding aids, indexed by subject. Links to 5,000 online finding aids.
ArchiveGrid is a collection of nearly two million archival material descriptions, including MARC records from WorldCat and finding aids harvested from the web. ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials. It also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented in ArchiveGrid.
- ARD, the Anthropology Review Database
Searchable database of reviews covering anthropological publications, including books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and on-line resources.
- Art Full Text
(EBSCOhost) This database offers full-text, plus abstracts and indexing, of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Index to 12,600 + journals pertaining to science, medicine, technology, social science, business, humanities, and popular culture. Now includes journal Tables of Contents. 1990 - present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Part of Web of Science. Search over 1,130 leading journals by subject, author, or cited reference. On the search screen, clear the checkboxes for Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index if you do not want to search all 3 databases simultaneously (the default). An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool. 1991- present.
Digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Click on "Go" to begin searching. You will need to register from an on-campus computer if you want to download images (after registering, you can access your account from any computer).
Reports on 53 countries in Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and Pacific Islands about finance, trade, environment, human resources development, government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies. The average 50-page study contains statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts. Browse by country to find annual statistical overviews. Includes Asia-Studies Humanities, a database focused on Asian languages, arts, culture, history, and religion.
- ASTM Standards
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.