This is the "Community & Patients" page of the "Medical Community & Patients" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medical Community & Patients  

Last Updated: Apr 27, 2012 URL: http://campusguides.unr.edu/medcommunity Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Community & Patients Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Resources

How do I find books in the library?

The library's Catalog can be accessed here.

Can I get a library card?

Yes you can! See Savitt Medical Library's Community Borrower's Policy here.

 

Daily Health & Medical News

Updated nightly Monday through Friday from MedicineNet.com

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Fitness & Nutrition News

The latest on fitness and health from the New York Times.

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Welcome!

Savitt Medical Library is happy to provide information about good, reputable health materials. However, please remember that these resources are provided for informational use only and are not a substitute for medical advice. If you have a medical issue, see your health care provider.

Web Resources

  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - Consumers & Patients Section
    This agency provides excellent materials related to patient safety, staying health, patient-doctor communication, health literacy, and understanding medical treatments.
  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
    CMS provides health coverage for 100 million people through Medicare, Medicaid, and the Children's Health Insurance Program. This site provides consumers with information to make informed health care decisions.
  • ConsumerMedSafety.org
    From the Institute for Safe Medication Practices, a nonprofit organization of pharmacists, nurses, and doctors devoted to safe medication practices. Information includes Drug Alerts, Consumer Medication News, and more tools and resources to prevent medication errors.
  • FamilyDoctor.org
    Health information for the whole family. Tools include symptom checker, dictionary, BMI calculator, immunization schedule for all ages, drug info, and healthcare management.
  • Healthfinder.gov
    Free guide to reliable health information, personal health tools, a get active guide, health encyclopedia, and more from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • KidsHealth.org
    Excellent online resource for children's health information. KidsHealth is divided into four sections: Parents, Kids, Teens, and Educators.
  • MedlinePlus
    An excellent starting point, this site provides up-to-date, reliable health and drug information and interactive tools. A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
  • Merck Manual Home Health Handbook
    Free resource based on the world's most widely used textbook of medicine, The Merck Manual, but written in everyday language for patients and caregivers. Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis.
  • National Cancer Institute
    Provides information on the cause, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of cancer, rehabilitation from cancer, and the continuing care of cancer patients and their families
  • National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
    The lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
  • Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners
    The board licenses Physicians, Practitioners of Respiratory Care, Physician Assistants and Perfusionists who wish to practice in the state. This site provides information for patients & consumers, licensees & applicants, and the public. Look up a physician, file a complaint, or order public records.
  • NIHSeniorHealth
    This easy-to-use website features basic health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health
  • U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for Consumers
    Provides consumer updates covering FDA activities and regulated products, medication safety alerts, health warnings, multi-media consumer information such as videos, photo slide shows, and audio podcasts as well as links to print publications.
  • WebMD
    Consumer health information for products, services, and news
 

MedlinePlus.gov

MedlinePlus Trusted Health Information for You: A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH National Institutes of Health
Search MedlinePlus:
 

Return to Library Home

 

 

 

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip