This guide lists some of the best resources for getting started with research in Mining & Metallurgy Engineering. You'll find information about research databases, article, books, journals, websites and more. If you have any questions please contact the DeLaMare Science & Engineering Library.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/dstl_unr/8251696634/in/photostream - By Nick Crowl
The Search Process:
- Define your topic
- Brainstorm keywords
- Perform your initial search
- Browse results
- Record new search terms
- Search again using new terms
OneMine is a collaborative effort among multiple societies to place the world's most comprehensive collection of mining and minerals based research in one place. This aggregate includes Technical Documents, Conference Papers, Articles, Pre-prints, and Late Papers.
- IMMaGE Online
(Information on Mining, Metallurgy and Geological Exploration) Technical research, development and operating practices for metalliferous and industrial minerals are covered in the fields of Economic Geology, Mining Technology, Mineral Processing, Extractive Metallurgy, and Non-Metals Extraction. Related topics include Minerals Industry, Health and Safety, Environment (including Waste Treatment and Reclamation), Mathematical Methods and Computing, Analysis and Instrumentation, General Engineering, Civil Engineering (including Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling), Uses, and History.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
A comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- ASTM Standards
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Online continuing education courses and technical reference for mining and the geological sciences (part of InfoMine.) Course access requires Internet Explorer 6+. Access is via username and password — UNR students, faculty or staff members must register using their UNR e-mail address to use the site for the first time. If you have an existing username and password, for our recent trial of the full InfoMine site, it should continue to work. Contact Tod Colegrove at 682-5644 for further assistance.
- Engineering Village
(EI Village) Online equivalent of Engineering Index, within an organized space for engineering Web resources. 1970 - present.
(EI Village) Most comprehensive bibliographic database in geology, from 1785 to present. Nearly 2 million records. (Now from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
- Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, and articles.